Sunday, July 1, 2012

The Ultimate Love Language

Post written by Denielle Tamayo

photo from

We have heard of the five love languages mankind has been utilizing to communicate affection to those they deeply care for. May it be one of the five, a combination of two, three or four, or even the whole lot, these expressions assure us of the love we need and would like to give to the object of our affection, sincere or true.

It was great revelation when I discovered that there is a sixth love language. Not only is this demonstration of love important in any relationship, I have come to the realization that it is, beyond doubt, the ultimate of all love languages.

Before going to the utmost, let me enumerate the first five. I first encountered this a few months before my husband and I got married, during our marriage counseling sessions. So here goes…

Affirmation. There are some who find affirmation as an expression of love given and received. They compliment the person they care for deeply. Some feel loved when their other half praise them through encouraging words — may it be in the way they dress, their character, talents, accomplishments and everything that comes with that person.

Gifts. Those speaking this language shower their love ones with gifts or they feel loved when their partners give them presents. Mind you, gifts also come in other packages like going out for a movie together, that getaway to a very nice resort to relax, spa treatment or anything you can think of as a gift. It does not necessarily need to be an item found in a store.

Service. Others find this as a wonderful expression of love to and from their mates. They find it really romantic when their partners cook for them, run errands for them, give them massages or vice versa.

Time. Spending time with the person they love is the love language for some people. Not just quantity time but quality time as well.

Touch. This is the language of the PDA (public display of affection) fanatics. They like holding hands while walking, hugging, hair stroking or anything that involves skin contact.

My husband and I are walking to our seventh year of marriage. Learning these five love languages helped us to be sensitive to each other’s needs. We are blessed to have understood each other’s love language during the early years of our marriage.

But when I learned of the sixth love language through a book my husband gave me, I was overwhelmed by how God is leading us towards His picture of marriage. The ultimate love language — PRAYER. It communicates in ways we can’t. When we pray for someone, God’s love will grow in our heart for that person. We’ll also find love growing in this person’s heart for us, without that person knowing we’re praying for him.

Even if our prayers are not uttered with completely selfless motives, our motives will become more unselfish as prayer continues. Prayer brings unity even if the person we’re praying for is not praying with us. When we ask someone, “How can I pray for you?” we bring an aspect of love and care in any given situation. I can’t imagine anyone not wanting to be prayed for. You’ll be amazed at how people answer this question in detail.

The first five love languages require two individuals to make things happen. Prayer requires just one with willingness to seek the best for another. If we really love someone showing how much we do thru his and our love language together with prayer would bring the relationship up a whole lot of notches. 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...